Skip to content

I can’t, I have kids.

March 14, 2012

As I child I remember hearing “That’s my new car in his mouth.” as they discussed my braces, and never thought much of it (Yes I was the skinny nerd with head gear). In preparing for my kids I started to fall into a similar trap.  I sold my mountain bikes, motorcycle and truck, gave up my annual adventure trip and settled in for life as a father, postponing fun for later.

However my kids quickly taught me how broken this view really is.  I now have two boys, 3 and 4.  They are full of energy and excited to take on the outdoors.  Instead of giving up everything for them, they helped me reconnect with the value of the amazing list of experience I have had in my life.  They have taught me the  value of time spent outdoors, the positive impact a great song can have on my life and how important it is to laugh and have fun.  The boys have brought the best of my past back into my life, as together we get to build a list of new adventures and experience.

The adventures are different and offer a new set of challenges, but have become more rewarding and memorable than I ever thought possible.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 2:00 am

    Hi Chris, It is so evident how much you love your family! Great to see! 🙂

  2. March 17, 2012 3:25 am

    Christopher… you are an amazing man and an amazing father… well played!

  3. March 19, 2012 10:07 pm

    Wow, an adventurer who used to be a nerd in head gear. Someone should make a movie about that. There’s hope for us all! 🙂

  4. April 1, 2012 8:11 am

    Excellent piece. We write our site to encourage people to get out there, kids or no kids.

Leave a Reply

