Skip to content

I was called an environmentalist

March 19, 2012

Mount Robson 1995

I am confident the person respects me, however I was shocked, I had never seen myself as or been called an environmentalist before.  It was not meant to be insulting, but defiantly was not a positive comment. This one brief and that I am sure was regretted comment got me reflecting.

In high school I viewed myself as a “Canadian Capitalist”, which I defined as; everyone deserves the basics (healthcare, school), then let the hard workers, innovators and entrepreneurs create wealth.  I was active outdoors, but never related this to my world views.  When I was even  younger I loved fishing, just buried the awful feeling that surged forward every time a fish was pulled into the boat, knowing a quick blow to its head would soon end its life.

Getting out of school and quickly building my Net worth, still enjoying the outdoors, but not worried about protecting it (no impact when camping, but no problem taking out a forest at work).  I always bought fuel efficient vehicles, but habits like this where more about being cheap than anything else.

When did all this change!  How did it change without me even noticing?  I no longer fish and am struggling to become a vegetarian.  I now get the same sick feeling I used to fishing, every time I fill up my car.

Ii hold socially responsible investments (not perfect, but better), and attend sustainability meetings in the community.  I oppose Nuclear energy (I studied and supported this before). as with the randomness of the world we can’t risk one major incident, no matter how unlikely (I did feel this way before the Japanese melt down, although we now are hearing that this wasn’t an unknown risk with that reactor).    I appose the pipeline proposed here in BC that runs through the Great Bear Rainforest, an area so special and amazing.

I can’t believe I didn’t notice the change!!  I noticed when I shifted from wanting money to wanting an amazing life, but I missed this.

I am still not convinced the planet needs saving, I am confident it will heal.  I just fear we have and will to continue to scare it so bad that not only will the animals we share it with suffer, but those that choose to experience the amazing spaces and animals that still remain and our children will no longer have the opportunities we currently do.

I am not convinced I am an environmentalist, but glad I was called one.  I would be happy to be seen beside those standing up for everything amazing our planet has to offer.  Not to mentioned the diminished lifestyle we will all endure if things don’t change.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. mgedwards permalink
    March 20, 2012 12:07 am

    I love Mount Robson…and Canada too! I spent a lot of time in Western Canada and fell in love with the beautiful nature. It reminds me too of our impact on the environment. Thanks too for visiting my blog. I really appreciate it!

    • March 21, 2012 7:39 pm

      Thank you for visiting. I am amazed at all the amazing places there are to explore around the Province, also really enjoying reading about outdoor adventures everyone else is taking, many at places I had no idea about.

  2. March 20, 2012 5:52 am

    Beautiful photo! I am hopeful that if we all make a concerted effort, we can do it one step at at time . .

    • March 21, 2012 7:34 pm

      Thank you, it is one of my favourite hiking pictures. I am always looking for my next step.

  3. March 21, 2012 6:59 pm

    I have never been to Canada, but it is my list of things to do and places to see. Your photos and your blog on outdoor life inspires me to think of coming to visit sooner rather than later. Thank you for liking my blog, I can see that my small adventure in a posh campervan may seem insignificant against your restoration of Boler? I have a friend in UK who is renovating an old VW campervan with the idea of taking it round UK. He spends ages adding little luxuries – like a sink!

    • March 21, 2012 7:22 pm

      I am sure all Rv’s allow for the same amazing adventures!! I have a friend with a VW, they are fun as well. I am sure my wife would trade my Boler for your Van in a second.

      Glad you like my blog, regrettably in all my travels I have barely seen any of the amazing locations in this province, let alone the country. So many adventures left to have. I have plans to go north and see the spirit bears, sail some of the local islands and kayak others, hopefully the picture will get better and maybe even offer a couple ideas.

      I look forward to seeing what great spots there are to see in the UK.

Leave a Reply

