Skip to content

Planning the Ultimate West Coast Adventure

March 24, 2012

Living in BC bears are a common part of camping, and on occasion I have even seen them around the Lower-mainland.  A few years ago I heard about the Spirit Bear, then in 2011 a video of a Black bear with a spirit bear cub and black bear cub using a log to cross a creek found it`s way into my facebook feed.

I don`t know why, but I instantly felt the need to head out to this remote part of the province and experience this amazing animal for myself.  A little searching on the internet and the location was set.  It turns out they live in an amazing and remote area on the BC coast.  No roads in, so just boats and planes.  I found a village there, Klemtu.  From here there is a 20 km hiking trail to a launch for kayaks to access the area, or we could take a sail boat.

Kayak is simplest and would allow us to fly in, making the trip doable in a week.  The sail boat however makes me feel safe bringing the boys to this remote location (give us a good place to sleep), however it would take almost a week to get the boat up there (need a bigger boat if I want to get there faster).

This location has amazing coastline, inlets, cliffs, waterfalls and forests.  Abundant wildlife and remains of native settlements.  This truly looks like one of the most amazing and mostly untouched places to explore.  I am waiting until 2012 for the trip, as all our holiday time this year is already committed to other adventures, just means more time to plan.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 6:27 pm

    I have yet to explore the central BC Coast, take lots of pics, it’s on my list. Just to clarify the “spirit bear” colour phase is just a colour of black bear that can be found in most of the province as black bears although mostly black can come in all colours.

  2. April 7, 2012 5:35 pm

    As far as I know they are only black everywhere else, I have seen many and they have all had black fur. The Spirit bear is only found in one area, about 10% of the black bears there have white fur. Bears with brown fur are different, luckily I haven’t met any of them on the trail.

Leave a Reply

