Skip to content

First Ride of the Season

March 29, 2012

My Bike

With the sun out it seemed like the perfect day to take the road bike out for the first ride of the season. I have missed riding, it help keep me in shape, get a short vacation (even if only for an hour) and most importantly a chance to relax and clear my head.

Since I hadn’t been out in a while I decided on a short ride, just over 30 km. The route starts from my front door, weaving through town on back roads as I made my way to the river. Then following a nice quiet road along the river for a while and making a loop back home

There were bikes everywhere and the parking lots for the parks along the river where overflowing, I have never seen it so busy.

Today I didn’t push the pace, even stopped to take a picture.  It was a great to be back on the bike, and plan to make this a regular break.  With kids it can be difficult to find the time for yourself, however I believe the entire family benefits from a proper balance in each of our lives.

Golden Ears Bridge

I never would have thought road riding would be a hobby I would have enjoyed.  I have ridden local trails since a very young age, and loved being in the forest.  I never minded the effort needed to pedal, but didn’t really feel it was much of the experience (aside from avoiding the alternative, engine noise that drowns out the sounds of the forest).  However my wife wanted to try this sport, and instantly I was hooked.

Road along the river

My legs are sore, but I am refreshed and planning my next ride.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 29, 2012 10:58 am

    Chris, I love these posts and these pictures on here. What a great reminder of what life is about, that we should take time and enjoy our families and our lives. These stories are so simple, but they remind me of what life is really about and what matters most. Thank you for letting us peak into your life.

  2. selah permalink
    March 29, 2012 1:59 pm

    wow, 30k would be a long ride for me.. love the shot of the bridge and the mountains beyond, but don’t you wish they would have kept the Albion ferry going?

    • March 29, 2012 3:31 pm

      Thanks for following,

      I liked the ferry better for riding, it was a great break at the end of a long ride (and no line ups for bikes). However the new bridge is so fast to get over to Golden Ears or Pitt Lake, those days the bridge is nice. Not happy to see tolls though.

  3. March 29, 2012 7:13 pm

    Hi! Looks we are both excited about spring! Thanks for the follow and I look forward to watching your adventure!

    • March 29, 2012 7:17 pm

      Thanks for checking out my blog. I am looking forward to a great summer, which will include a lot of riding of course.

  4. March 29, 2012 7:58 pm

    Very nice post. I also love to ride and can not wait to start this year. Thanks for visiting my blog and following. I look forward to your future posts.

    • March 29, 2012 8:47 pm

      Glad you liked it. The outdoor theme of many of your posts caught my attention.,

  5. adventureiq permalink
    March 29, 2012 9:28 pm

    I really enjoy your blog— keep up the great work! BTW— sweet road bike!

    • March 31, 2012 12:26 pm

      Glad you like it. With summer coming should have some great stuff to post!

  6. March 29, 2012 10:08 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog… Looked through yours and also enjoyed the Photos. BC is truly beautiful. Spring is off to a slow start in Southern Oregon…

    • March 30, 2012 8:51 am

      We had one amazing weekend of spring, now it has been raining. So mostly slow start here too. Oregon is amazing, I do plan to do some exploring there again soon. Look forward to more great outdoor pictures on your blog.

      • March 30, 2012 4:33 pm

        Will do. On Vancouver Island I have two more blogs… one on road trips to Campbell River and Alberni. The other on Victoria. After that I may feature Death Valley… one of my favorite places. Even bicycled through it once as part of a 10,000 mile solo tour of the US and Canada. (grin)

      • March 30, 2012 5:40 pm

        I look forward to them!! Is your bike tour on the blog as well?

      • March 31, 2012 9:29 am

        Not yet… It’s one of those book-like jobs that I find a little overwhelming. (grin) Presently my big project is Peace Corps Africa. Much of it is on the blog.

      • March 31, 2012 9:33 am

        Too many adventures to post, nice.

      • March 31, 2012 9:39 am

        Ah, life’s an adventure. Each day brings a new one. Like your little RV, BTW. Peggy and I have a Canadian Pleasure Way that we wander around in. It’s our second and we love it.

      • March 31, 2012 9:46 am

        Nice RV, a little more luxurious than our rig. I resisted anything but a tent for a while, but simplifying travel with an RV just means more time to play.

      • March 31, 2012 11:37 am

        For years, I resisted buying an RV… then I had a year off to wander North America and needed something comfortable enough to persuade my wife to go along with me. Necessity is the mother of….

      • March 31, 2012 11:46 am

        For me it was when we started taking the two little kids camping, it was exhausting. Necessity…

Leave a Reply

