Skip to content

Cascade Falls

April 3, 2012

Cascade Falls sign

Cascade falls is a nice waterfall easily accessable, but near forestry roads if you want to explore.

Walk to the falls

This is a very quick hike, but a great spot for lunch by the creek.  The boys had no problem running up to the falls, and with fences they are kept safe.

Cascade Falls

If you follow the main road it leads to a few forestry roads and a Davis Lake Provincial Park.  I have explored up this way a bit, but it was hunting season and the constant sound of gun shots (mostly from target practice in the gravel pits) took the relaxing nature of exploring away, so we didn’t continue long enough to make any great finds up this way.  Finding Davis lake Provincial Park is still on my list, but next time I will go better prepared to find it.  The do say the signs are limited, I couldn’t find a sign to even confirm it was there.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. selah permalink
    April 3, 2012 9:24 am

    I’ve not heard of this place.. the falls are very pretty.. I don’t blame you for not staying where the gunshots were..

    • April 3, 2012 9:28 am

      It is a very short walk, there are signs if you are driving towards Mission on Lougheed hwy. It is a nice spot for lunch, but not a destination, and a bit of a drive.

      • selah permalink
        April 3, 2012 10:21 am

        thanks for letting me know where it is.. I think its neat that you live near where I used to, and we share knowledge of some of the same places. I was born in Mission, lived in Langley for a long time, then lived in South Surrey until last year when we moved to Duncan.

      • April 3, 2012 10:23 am

        Duncan is an amazing place to explore the outdoors!

      • selah permalink
        April 3, 2012 10:33 am

        yes it is.. we love it here.

  2. beechcreekproject permalink
    April 3, 2012 1:20 pm

    I never heard of a boler before but I have to say it looks like a very cool camper. We have a bit in common in the sense that we both got away from out outdoor roots and have decided to go back to what we fell in love with as kids. Nothing like passing those same loves down to our children and someday they’ll look back on those times as some of the best days of their childhood. I know I do. Take care and stay safe on those trails. I’ll be keeping an eye on your blog.

    • April 3, 2012 1:31 pm

      Agreed.

      The Boler was a Canadian trailer from the 70’s. A couple franchises made their way into the US, but then all were discontinued. I like them because it is lighter than most tent trailers and keeps the bears out (not that a bear has yet to climb into my tent).

      Thank you for checking out my blog!!

  3. April 4, 2012 9:47 am

    Nothing like hunting season to dampen the ardor for hiking down trails. (grin) Unless, of course, you are a hunter. I usually feel like a target. Nice photo of the falls.

  4. April 4, 2012 7:04 pm

    Find something to wear in blaze orange and be careful. Good luck.

    • April 4, 2012 8:03 pm

      We now know to avoid anywhere hunting is allowed during hunting season. There are so many places to explore where we do not have to worry about guns.

  5. April 9, 2012 6:21 pm

    Do you ever go camping in the Peace River Valley area of BC?

    • April 9, 2012 10:30 pm

      Not yet. It is a long drive and I do not know much about the area. Do you recommend checking out the area?

Leave a Reply

